

DU PAGE COUNTY

Legislative Committee

Final Summary

Tuesday, March 14, 2023 11:30 AM	Room 3500B
----------------------------------	-------------------

** 11:30 AM or Immediately Following County Board Meetng **

11:30 AM OR IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING COUNTY BOARD MEETING

1. CALL TO ORDER

Meeting was called to order by Chair Dawn DeSart at 11:55 AM.

2. ROLL CALL

Staff present: Sheryl Markay (Chief Policy & Program Officer), Jason Blumenthal (Policy & Program Manager), Conor McCarthy (State Attorneys Office), Mary Keating (Director of Community Services) Joining via Zoom: Laura Flamion (Animal Services, Operations Manager)

Additional Board Members Present: Yeena Yoo, Paula Deacon Garcia

Guest via Zoom: Joe McCoy, Executive Director, Illinois State Association of Counties

Member Chaplin was late due to being held after the previous meeting.

PRESENT	Childress, DeSart, Eckhoff, and Zay
ABSENT	Galassi
LATE	Chaplin

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

3.A. <u>23-1071</u>

Legislative Minutes - Regular Meeting - Tuesday, February 21, 2023

RESULT:	APPROVED
MOVER:	Dawn DeSart
SECONDER:	Michael Childress

4. **PUBLIC COMMENT**

No public comments were offered.

5. CHAIR'S REMARKS - CHAIR DESART

Chair DeSart gave very high praise and thanks to Sheryl Markay for her extensive work reading, distilling, tracking and prioritizing the over 6,500 bills that were filed to create the DuPage County Summary Bill List.

6. **DISCUSSION**

6.A. Overview of the Spring Legislative Session – Joe McCoy, Executive Director, Illinois State Association of Counties

Joe McCoy provided an overview of the spring legislative session. He remarked that ISACo is tracking 900 bills that can be tracked on their website. Seventeen (17) of the bills they are supporting are also on the county's bill list. Mr. McCoy also encouraged DuPage to become more involved in NACo, mentioning that Mary Keating was a board member of NACo. Chair DeSart informed the committee that Chair Deborah Conroy recently named Member Sheila Rutledge as the county's NACo Representative. Mr. McCoy answered the committee's questions regarding shell bills and other bills that ISACo is tracking. Member Grant Eckhoff noted that he is concerned how quickly the shell bills can change.

7. ACTION ITEMS

7.A. <u>23-1073</u>

Action Item - Key Bill List 3-14-2023

Sheryl Markay explained the process used when reviewing the 6500 bills filed to determine the bill list. Using the DuPage 2023 State Legislative Program, she followed the 10 legislative priorities for 2023 that the County Board adopted on Jan. 24, 2023 to guide the selection of twenty-five (25) bills to support and two (2) bills to oppose. Mrs. Markay responded to questions.

RESULT:	ADOPTED
MOVER:	Dawn DeSart
SECONDER:	Liz Chaplin
AYES:	Chaplin, Childress, and DeSart
NAY:	Eckhoff, and Zay
ABSENT:	Galassi

8. OLD BUSINESS

8.A. Motion to Reconsider Approval of the February 21, 2023 Minutes

RESULT:	APPROVED
MOVER:	Jim Zay
SECONDER:	Dawn DeSart

8.B. Motion to Amend the February 21, 2023 Minutes

Member Zay motioned to amend the February 21, 2023 minutes to reflect that he and Member Chaplin were absent from that meeting due to the extended Transportation Committee meeting.

RESULT:	APPROVED
MOVER:	Jim Zay
SECONDER:	Dawn DeSart

9. **NEW BUSINESS**

10. ADJOURNMENT

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:34 PM.